UMSU election results

Tracy Ayebare Karuhogo will be next president

The preliminary results of UMSU’s 2023 general election are in.

Tracy Ayebare Karuhogo will be UMSU’s next president, receiving 32.9 per cent of votes to Victoria Romero’s 32.5 per cent — a difference of just 16 votes. Justin Langan received 22.1 per cent of ballots, while Roleen Alarab earned 12.5 per cent. Langan’s name appeared on the ballot despite his disqualification from the race two days before the vote.

Divya Sharma beat Elishia Ratel for the position of vice-president community engagement with 52.9 per cent of the votes to Ratel’s 47.1 per cent.

Liam Pittman is the new vice-president advocacy, earning 52.9 per cent of the vote, with competitor Ivan Nuñez Gamez receiving 47.1 per cent.

Christine Yasay received 90.4 per cent “yes” votes in a race where she ran unopposed for the position of vice-president student life.

New vice-president finance and operations Vaibhav Varma also ran unopposed following the disqualification of fellow candidate Peter Akiode. Varma earned 87.2 per cent of “yes” votes.

Anita Ayame won 56.4 per cent of the vote to Zima Ndukwe’s 43.6 per cent in the race for Black student community representative.

Alex Rana ran unopposed for 2SLGBTQIA+ community representative, receiving 83.6 per cent “yes” votes.

The race for international student community representative was more competitive, featuring four candidates. Andrea Nguyen won 33.6 per cent of votes, beating Zeeshan Nisar’s 25.2 per cent. Dhruvi Shah and Naufil Ahmed Khan received 20.8 and 20.4 per cent, respectively.

The position of racialized community representative will be filled by Allisther De Castro, who earned 59.1 percent of votes, defeating Sofreen Sandhu’s 40.9 per cent.

Ishkode Catcheway received 89.8 per cent “yes” votes in a race where she ran unopposed.

Witta Irumva and Caleigh Guillou both ran unopposed for their positions. Irumva won the position of women’s community representative with 93 per cent “yes” votes. Guillou received 90.2 “yes” votes for accessibility community representative.

14/03/2023: Updated to reflect final results