Change slate sweeps 2020 UMGSA general election

No incumbent executives returning

Preliminary results of the 2020 University of Manitoba Graduate Students’ Association (UMGSA) general election show Change, the only full slate in the running, taking every position.

Presidential candidate Silvia Sekander took 300 votes, vice-president academic candidate Rubel Chandra Talukder took 536 votes, vice-president services and support candidate Etinosa Osemwota took 579 votes, vice-president finance and administration candidate Nora Ampomah took 559, and the two senatorial candidates Akeem Azeez and William Dowie took 530 and 550 votes respectively.

There will be no 2019-20 executives returning to their positions this upcoming year.

Of the three independent candidates announced at the outset of the election, the two presidential candidates, Saeideh Mirzaei and Gift Amadi, took 255 votes and 159 votes, while vice-president academic candidate Danielle Milln withdrew from the race before the voting period began.

The UMGSA election and referendum manual states that a general election’s preliminary results are to be ratified at the next council meeting after all complaints and appeals have been resolved. The next UMGSA council meeting will take place remotely on March 25.