Candidates announced for 2020 UMGSA general elections

One slate, three independent candidates running

The list of candidates for the 2020 University of Manitoba Graduate Students’ Association (UMGSA) general elections have been announced.

There are no current executive members seeking re-election.

The campaign period will run from March 9 to 15, and election forums will be taking place on the Fort Garry campus on March 11 and the Bannatyne campus on March 12. Voting will take place from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on March 16 and 17.

Executive slates


  • President: Silvia Sekander
  • Vice president academic: Rubel Chandra Talukder
  • Vice president services and support: Etinosa Osemwota
  • Vice president finances and administration: Nora Ampomah
  • Senator (two positions): Azeez Akeem Abiodun, William Dowie

Independent nominees

President: Gift Amadi
President: Saeideh Mirzaei

Vice president academic: Danielle Milln