Candidates announced for 2022 UMSU general election

Two VP positions uncontested

Graphic by Dallin Chicoine, staff

Update 2022-03-16: Keji Preston has removed themselves from the running for the position of Women’s Representative.

Update 2022-03-21: Taylor-Rain MacLeod has removed themselves from the running for the position of Indigenous Students’ Representative, leaving the position uncontested.

The candidates for the 2022 UMSU general election have been announced.

This is the first election since slates were abolished by UMSU’s board of directors, meaning each candidate is running independently.

Campaigning begins March 21, 9 a.m. The voting period then runs March 31, 9 a.m. – April 1, 4:30 p.m., after which results will be available at

The Mature Students’ Representative and Part-time Students’ Representative positions have had their nomination periods extended to March 18. 5 p.m.

Executive Candidates

UMSU President

  • Savannah Szocs
  • Jaron Rykiss

UMSU Vice-President Student Life

  • Tracy Karuhogo
  • Mohammed Soussi

UMSU Vice-President Advocacy

  • Liam Pittman
  • Victoria Romero

UMSU Vice-President Finance and Operations

  • Brook Rivard

UMSU Vice-President Community Engagement

  • Elishia Ratel

Community Representative Candidates

International Students’ Representative

  • Sahand Babaie
  • Kunal Rajpal

Women’s Representative

  • Gulnaaz Dhillon
  • Christine Yasay

Indigenous Students’ Representative

  • Ishkode Catcheway

2SLGBTQIA+ Students’ Representative

  • Alex Rana

Black Students’ Representative

  • Anita Ayame

Accessibility Students’ Representative

  • Caleigh Guillou